Image of Roscoe statue lit up

Roscoe Lecture: Lauren Child

St George's Hall, Liverpool view map & directions


Register now

For more than 20 years, LJMU has invited some of the country’s leading commentators to join staff, students and the people of Liverpool in discussing issues that matter to them.

The Roscoe Lectures use research, humour and political insight to explore current, engaging topics.

Lauren Child, writer and artist, will present a lecture for the Roscoe Series.

Lauren ChildAbout Lauren Child

Lauren Child is a multi-award-winning, bestselling writer and artist. She is the creator of many much-loved characters, including Clarice Bean, Ruby Redfort and Charlie and Lola.

Her first two books were published in 1999 -  I Want a Pet and Clarice Bean, That’s Me, and she won the prestigious Kate Greenaway Medal in 2000 for I Will Not Ever Never Eat a Tomato, the first of her Charlie and Lola picture books. Lauren published her first Clarice Bean novel in 2002 – Utterly Me, Clarice Bean. The Clarice Bean series has sold over 6 million copies worldwide.

In October 2005, the BBC launched a 78-part animated series of Charlie and Lola. The series has won four BAFTAS and is aired in more than 34 countries.
In 2008 Lauren launched UNESCO’s 'My Life is a Story' Campaign for UNESCO’s Programme for the Education of Children in Need, and was named a UNESCO Artist for Peace in 2008.

In 2010 she was awarded an MBE for Services to Literature.

Lauren is an international ambassador for the excellence of UK illustration: she’s been at the forefront of innovation for 15 years and has raised the profile of illustration as a sophisticated art form for all ages. She works with mixed media, pioneered text as an integral part of illustration and collaborates with artists across different fields. She is a trustee of the recently-formed House of Illustration.

Lauren is also a passionate advocate for visual literacy and the importance of quality picture books for children.

The latest Charlie and Lola book, A Dog with Nice Ears, was  published in paperback  in Autumn 2017.

Ruby Redfort #6 Blink and You Die , the final book in the series was published in October 2016.

Please note: bookings will open 6 weeks prior to the Lecture date.

For further information email: or call 0151 231 3668