Large scale temporary storage for students

Introduction

Students undertaking video editing may require large amounts (typically 3GB-10GB) of temporary storage for a short period (typically 1-3 months) to store their work. Lecturers can enable the automatic provision of large-scale temporary storage for all students on a designated module offering by following the instructions below.

A separate temporary storage area is allocated to each student on the designated module and is only accessible by that student. By default, neither their lecturer nor other students on the module are able to access a student’s temporary storage.

Note:

  1. The lecturer making the request must be registered as a tutor for that module offering in Canvas
  2. A secure storage area will be automatically generated for each student enrolled on the module offering and an appropriate email notification will be sent to each student
  3. Students will access their temporary disk space by clicking on the link on their M: Drive. (see ‘The Student’s Role’ for more details
  4. Each storage area can only be accessed by the student to whom it has been assigned
  5. The storage areas are backed up on a nightly basis
  6. The temporary storage areas are deleted on the completion date of the module offering
Please take a copy of any work you wish to keep prior to the module completion date - once the content has been deleted it will not be recoverable

The Tutors Role: Setting up the storage space

Stage 1: Selecting the Course

Stage 2: Confirm details

The web page will now show information about the course selected in Stage 1, e.g.

Storage Request Canvas

Check the course details and if you are happy click on Create Storage to proceed - This will:

  • Create the storage space
  • Send an email to confirm that the storage area has been set up.
  • Send an email to the enrolled students confirming information about the storage space and the shortcut link to the storage area.

PLEASE NOTE: This storage space will NOT be available after the time-line specified. You must back up any important work prior to the expiry of the temporary space. We will NOT be able to retrieve any files from the space after it is removed.


The Students Role: Using the space

  • All students enrolled on the module offering will receive an email containing information about the storage space and a shortcut link to the storage area.- e.g.  
Your tutor has created a storage area for BBTJACK-201617-YR-AUG. A shortcut to it has been created on your Home Drive (M:\BBTJACK-201617-YR-AUGExtraStorage.lnk)

   

  • When you receive the email, go to your M drive and find the link relating to the module offering then click on the link to start using it. PLEASE NOTE: This storage space will NOT be available after the time-line specified. You must back up any important work prior to the expiry of the temporary space. We will NOT be able to retrieve any files from the space after it is removed,

Troubleshooting

Tutor: I am not sure whether I have set the space up already – how can I tell?

Visit the Storage Server Request Start Page and select the course as usual.

Check the ‘State’ – it should say ‘Storage Area Exists

Student: I have deleted the email I received.

Ask your tutor to Visit the Storage Server Request Start Page

Your tutor can click on ‘Refresh Storage’ to re-send the email.

Student: I have deleted the link on my M Drive.

Ask your tutor to Visit the Storage Server Request Start Page

Your tutor can click on ‘Refresh Storage’ to re-send the email and re-create the link on your M: Drive


If you are still having problems, the tutor can visit the ITS Self-Service Portal and select "Ask a Question"