Safeguarding at LJMU

At LJMU the safety and wellbeing of our students is a priority. To ensure that all students can learn and achieve safely, free from abuse, harassment and harm, we have developed a safeguarding policy and associated procedures.

Safeguarding is the process of ensuring that those within our communities who may be vulnerable are given additional protections and policies and strategies are developed to ensure this covers all member of the university community.  The Prevent duty is part of the statutory duties placed on the university and this is incorporated into our overarching Safeguarding policy.  The Prevent duty is part of the Counter Terrorism and Security Act 2015, and requires the university to have ‘due regard to the need to prevent people from being drawn into terrorism’.  At the centre of Prevent is the need to safeguard individuals from harm.

The university has a personalised reporting system in place should anyone be concerned about themselves or others.  Key contact points across the institution are listed below.  Any concerns should be reported to one of the individuals below using the Safeguarding reporting form contained within the appendices of the Safeguarding policy.

Safeguarding Officer (strategic)

Clare Milsom, Registrar and Chief Operating Officer (interim)

Safeguarding lead

Yvonne Turnbull, Director of Student Advice and Wellbeing Email:

Deputy Safeguarding leads

Rob Michael-Phillips, Head of Student Support and Wellbeing Email: 

Jo Bleasdale, Student Inclusion manager Email:

Designated Safeguarding Contacts

Faculty of Science
Alison Leigh Email:

Faculty of Engineering and Technology
Sara Rioux Email:

Faculty of Health
Cathy Gleig Email:

Faculty of Arts, Professional and Social Studies
Lyndsey Philip Email:

Faculty of Business and Law
Amanda Stewart-Reilly Email:

Human Resources

Sandra McCrystal Email:

Joanne Wilson Email:

Student Recruitment and Admissions

Carolyn Williams Email:

Peter Dolan Email:

Student Futures Team

Chris Finn Email:

Marnie Blackman-Cook Email:

IT services

Mark Wynne Email:

Library services

Christine Haddock Email:

Estates Management

Maria McShane Email:

Student Governance

Stuart Borthwick Email:


Sarah Latham Email: