Election Results

Election of a new Teaching member of staff to the Board of Governors

Staff Governor (Teaching) Election 2020 Results


Following an online election, Professor Dhiya Al-Jumeily has been duly elected as the Teaching Staff member to the Board of Governors, and will serve an initial term of three years with effect from 21st April 2020 until 31st March 2023.


Professor Dhiya Al-Jumeily’s Election Statement:

I have worked at LJMU for the last 25 years, and during this time, I have progressed from early career researcher to my current role as Professor of Artificial Intelligence.
Over the years, I have fostered good relationships throughout the University to facilitate the best   experience for both staff and students.
I have also served and represented the Faculty and University in various national and international Boards and Committees.
I would like to bring this extensive expertise to the Board of Governors to help strengthen the core values of the university, innovation and quality of provision at LJMU.


The number of votes cast for each candidate is as follows:

Temidayo Akenroye Senior Lecturer in Procurement and Supply Chain 30 10.6
Dhiya Al-Jumeily Professor of Artificial Intelligence 49 17.3
Moataz Alhilou Senior Lecturer in Business and Strategic Management 15 5.3
Stewart Chidlow Senior Lecturer in Applied Mathematics 26 9.2
Elaine Hemers Senior Lecturer and Associate Dean for Global Engagement 38 13.4
Sean Malkeson Senior Lecturer  30 10.6
Rebecca Murphy Subject Lead 48 16.9
Peter Penson Senior Lecturer in Pharmacology and Pharmacy Practice 21 7.4
Sameer Qaiyum Senior Lecturer in Strategic Management 6 2.1
Linda Seton Reader in Crystallisation Science 21 7.4

If you require any further information about the process of the elections, or the Board of Governors then please contact the Clerk to the Board of Governors, Michael Thompson by email M.F.Thompson@ljmu.ac.uk


Award-winning Intern Programme supports young people with additional needs


Reflections on what the new government could do for UK business


Contact Us

Get in touch with the Press Office on 0151 231 3369 or