Healthy Muscle Ageing Conference (HMAC) report

The Cellular and Molecular Physiology of Lifelong Health (CaMP-LH) research group, led by Prof Jatin Burniston, hosted the Healthy Muscle Ageing Conference on Friday 15 September 2023 at the iconic Spine building (Paddington Village, Liverpool). This one-day event was part of the bicentennial celebrations of Liverpool John Moores University (LJMU) and included lectures from leading experts in the field of muscle ageing. The conference was attended by 100 delegates from fourteen different UK universities, as well as from institutes in Europe and North America.

The keynote lecture was delivered by Prof Stu Phillips of McMaster University in Canada, whom is now a visiting professor at the Research Institute for Sport & Exercise Sciences at LJMU. Other speakers on the day included Prof K Sreekumaran Nair (Mayo Clinic, USA), Associate Prof Mette Hansen (Aarhus University, Denmark), Prof Leigh Breen (University of Birmingham), Prof Jatin Burniston (LJMU), Dr Collen Deane (University of Southampton), Dr Caroline Staunton (University of Liverpool) and Dr Oliver Witard (King's College London). The event also included an early-career researcher poster competition, which attracted 16 entries and the top 3 posters were awarded prizes sponsored by the Physiological Society.

The event was attended by representatives from three UKRI ageing networks including: The ageing research translation (ART) of healthy ageing network, Muscle resilience across the life course: from cells to society (MyAge), and Lifelong physical activity targeting inequalities (ATTAIN), in addition to the British Society for Research on Ageing.

The Healthy Muscle Ageing Conference was funded by Liverpool John Moores University, The UKRI Art of Healthy Ageing Network, The Physiological Society and The Biochemical Society.

Front row (left to right) HMAC Conference speakers: Prof Leigh Breen (University of Birmingham), Prof Stu Phillips (McMaster University), Dr Caroline Staunton (University of Liverpool), Dr Oliver Witard (King’s College London), Prof Jatin Burniston (Liverpool John Moores University), Prof K Sreekumaran Nair (Mayo Clinic), Dr Colleen Deane (University of Southampton), Prof Mette Hansen (Aarhus University).
Back Row (left to right) HMAC co-organisers and helpers: Dr Richie Kirwan, Dr Jamie Pugh, Dr Kelsie Jonson, Krisztina Rudolf, Connor Stead, Dr Jose Areta, Erick Mosquera, Paige Cole, Samanvita Ravikanti.

Healthy Muscle Ageing Conference flyer (JPEG, 1.77MB)