Welcome event - Induction information for exchange students

Enrolment information

What you need to know about enrolling at LJMU.

While we advise you to choose your modules while completing your application, you only enrol and get your timetable when you arrive in Liverpool. At the application stage, you will be given a dedicated LJMU academic contact, called an International Mobility Coordinator (IMC). This person will help you with your module selection and subject-related queries prior to arrival and during your studies with us. They can also sign any Learning Agreement and other documents your home institution require you to complete.

View the catalogue of available modules for incoming exchange students

For information on enrolments, visit when you arrive.

LJMU International Mobility Coordinators

Arts, Professional and Social Studies

Art and Design: Kayla Owen (all other programmes in LSA) and Aliki-Myrto Perysinaki (Architecture only)

Education: Judith Enriquez-Gibson and Mark Meadows

Humanities and Social Science: Janine Melvin

Liverpool Screen School: Paula Baines

Justice Studies: Steve Altham


Public Health Institute: Conan Leavy

Nursing: Analie Grimshaw

Allied Health (inc. midwifery and paramedics): Jane Rooney

Psychology: Michael Richter

Engineering and Technology

Computer Science and Mathematics: Sandra Ortega Martorell

Built Environment: Vida Maliene

Civil Engineering: Iacopo Carnacina

Electronics and Electronic Engineering: Kevin Johnston and Colin Wright

Maritime and Mechanical Engineering: Dan Stancioiu

School of Civil Engineering and Built environment: Vida Maliene (Built Environment) and Iacopo Carnacina (Civil Engineering)

School of Engineering: Kevin Johnston and Colin Wright (Electronics and Electronic Engineering) Dan Stancioiu (Maritime and Mechanical Engineering)

Business and Law

Business: Elena Teso

Law: Alison Lui


Biological and Environmental Siences: Craig Wilding

Pharmacy and Biomolecular Sciences: Amanda Boddis

Sport and Exercise Sciences: Dominic Doran

As a student at LJMU, you should enrol in 60 credits per semester. We allow study abroad students to combine modules across our five Faculties and across level 4, 5 and 6. If you wish to enrol on any postgraduate modules then you will need approval for this from your IMC at LJMU. If you are studying at LJMU for semester 1 only and cannot attend the exams in January, you will be offered alternative assessments instead of exams. Please make your IMC aware of this during orientation.

You will have been advised in your application email which programme to apply for, this relates to the LJMU School where your subject is placed. All universities are structured differently so it is likely that your subject area is located within a different Faculty (or School) to your home institution. LJMU is split into five Faculties which are again split into Schools and each School teaches several subjects.

Find out more about our Faculties:

Faculty of Arts, Professional and Social Studies
Schools  Subject areas

Liverpool Centre for Advanced Policing Studies 

Policing Studies
Forensic Psychology

Liverpool School of Art and Design

Fine Art
Graphic Design

Liverpool Screen School

Creative Writing
Film Studies
Sport Journalism

School of Humanities and Social Sciences

Criminal Justice
English Literature
International Relations and Politics
Media, Culture, Communication

School of Law


Faculty of Education, Health and Community
Schools Subject areas

Public Health Institute

Environmental Health
Public Health 

School of Education 

Early Childhood 
Education Studies
Learning, Development and Support
Primary Education with QTS

School of Nursing and Allied Health

Paramedic Science

School of Sport Studies, Leisure and Nutrition

Physical Education
Sport Business
Sport Coaching
Sport Development

Faculty of Engineering and Technology
Departments  Subject areas 

Astrophysics Research Institute


Department of Applied Mathematics


Department of the Built Environment

Building Services
Building Surveying
Quantity Surveying
Real Estate

Department of Civil Engineering

Civil Engineering

Department of Computer Science

Computer Forensics
Computer Games Development
Computer Networks
Computer Science
Computer Security
Computer Studies
Data Science
Digital and Technology Solutions
Multimedia Computing
Software Engineering

Department of Electronics and Electrical Engineering

Audio and Music Production
Computing and Smart Devices
Control and Automation engineering
Electrical and Electronic engineering
Electrical Power Engineering
Product Design Engineering
Video Production and Streaming

Department of Maritime and Mechanical Engineering

Marine Engineering
Mechanical Engineering
Nautical Science

Faculty of Science
Schools  Subject areas 

School of Natural Sciences and Psychology

Animal Behaviour
Forensic Anthropology
Wildlife Conservation

School of Pharmacy and Biomolecular Sciences

Biomedical Science
Forensic Science

School of Sport and Exercise Sciences

Science and Football
Sport and Exercise Science
Sport Psychology

Liverpool Business School

Liverpool Business School

Business Studies
Public Relations
Business Management
International Business Management
Events Management
Human Resource Management
International Tourism Management