Honorary Fellows 2016 announced

Honorary Fellows

Liverpool John Moores University (LJMU) is delighted to announce this year’s Honorary Fellowships to be conferred during its graduation ceremonies this July. 

The Fellowships are given in recognition of outstanding achievement by an individual in a given field or profession. These individuals join a community of Fellows who are closely associated with the work of the University and who play an active role in the life of LJMU.

Vice-Chancellor of LJMU Professor Nigel Weatherill said: “The Honorary Fellows each represent a different profession and background and reflect the full range of disciplines within the University. They are all role models for our students and for our staff and I look forward to their participation in the life of the University through our Fellowship.”

The following Fellowships will be conferred during LJMU’s graduation ceremonies at the Liverpool Anglican Cathedral the week commencing 11th July 2016: 

Dr John Cater, Vice Chancellor of Edge Hill University and graduate of LJMU, for outstanding contributions to higher education

Louise Ellman MP for Liverpool Riverside for outstanding contribution to politics and support of the constituents of Liverpool

The Rt Hon Frank Field MP for outstanding contribution to the Liverpool city region and its constituents

His Honour, Judge Clement Goldstone QC for outstanding contribution to the law

Lord Hall of Birkenhead, Director General of the BBC, for outstanding contribution to media and entertainment

Steve Hawkins, Chief Executive, Local Solutions, for outstanding contribution to charity services in Liverpool and across the North West

Robert Hough, Chair of the LEP for outstanding contribution to business and regeneration in the North West

Simon Kirby, Chief Executive of HS2 and graduate of LJMU for outstanding contributions to engineering and to regeneration

Ann Marr, Chief Executive, St Helens and Knowsley Teaching Hospitals NHS trust for outstanding contribution to the Health Service

Councillor Gary Millar, Cabinet Member, Business, Enterprise and Investment at Liverpool City Council, for outstanding contribution to Liverpool city region and its people

Emma Rodgers, an internationally renowned sculptor for outstanding contribution to art.


Summer graduation 2024


Madeleine celebrates taking every opportunity at LJMU


Contact Us

Get in touch with the Press Office on 0151 231 3369 or