Professional Services Conference and Awards 2017

The day started with an insightful welcome from Vice-Chancellor, Professor Nigel Weatherill.

This was followed by an inspiring and emotive keynote presentation from the Executive Director of Everton in the Community, Phil Duffy. Delegates were captured by emotional videos showing how Everton in the Community has supported people living with dementia, care leavers, former armed forces and homeless people. Phil explained that the projects placed sport at the service of humanity and he drew parallels with LJMU’s role as a pioneering, modern civic university, and saying: “You can offer learning and opportunity - you can change lives, you can save lives - you have such fantastic opportunities to do that.”

The conference also offered 20 informative parallel sessions and a lively Q&A and plenary session, featuring LJMU senior management panel.

The event concluded with the presentation of the Professional Services Excellence Awards, recognising outstanding contributions from staff across the University who demonstrate best practice and performance standards.

There were 95 nominations in six different categories and the awards were presented by the Vice-Chancellor:

Service Excellence Winners - this award is for those who  deliver excellent service at all times, go over and above their role to provide support to others, overcome obstacles to others and enhance the service provided:

  • Paula Timmings, Receptionist, Estate Management
  • Carol Oliver, Executive Support Officer, Faculty of Engineering and Technology
  • Maria McShane, Training Supervisor and Leadership and Development Foundation Associate, Estate Management
  • Outreach Team, Student Recruitment
  • Centre for Entrepreneurship

Highly Commended: Corporate Events and Engagement Team, Corporate Communications and Stakeholder Relations

Innovation Excellence Winner - this award recognises those who have significantly changed the way they work for the better by using innovative thinking to transform areas of activity:

  • John Rae, Academic Planning and Information Services

Intern of the Year - awarded to individuals who have displayed a high level of commitment, initiative and produced outstanding pieces of work:

  • David Boardman, Department of Computer Science

Highly Commended:  Mohammed Isap, IT Services; Becca Fadden, Leadership and Development Foundation; Joe Goulding, Graduate School; Hannah Buckley, Careers Team; Catherine McNeill, School of Education

Leadership Excellence Winner - for success in co-ordinating, developing and inspiring others to achieve goals and fulfil potential:

  • Alice Ferrebe, Subject Leader, School of Humanities and Social Science

Achieving Excellence Winners - this award recognises those who have made a demonstrable difference to how a service is delivered or achieved outstanding project delivery.

  • Paul Wright, Senior Technician, Faculty of Engineering and Technology
  • Employability Advisors Team, Careers Centre
  • Saarah Robinson, Finance Manager, Naomi Scharf, People and Organisational Development, Guy Philip, Senior Systems Engineer, IT Services and Christine Coldham, Senior Business Systems Test Engineer, IT Services
  • Carolyn Benny and Pauline Smith, Librarians

Star Quality Winners - this award goes to those who for whom no job is too much trouble. Who work diligently in the background, anticipating needs and who others turn to for support:

  • Shonagh Wilkie, Manager, Corporate Communications and Stakeholder Relations
  • Jack Butterworth, Senior Software Engineer, IT Services
  • Sue Ashurst, PA, Legal and Governance Services
  • Kaylie Fortune, Admin Support Co-ordinator, Teaching and Learning Academy

Highly Commended: Jacinta Ellis, Research and European Funding Officer, RIS

Contact Us

Get in touch with the Press Office on 0151 231 3369 or