LJMU receives Collaborative Award for Teaching Excellence and National Teaching Fellowship


LJMU is one of 15 teams to win the Collaborative Award for Teaching Excellence (CATE) and an LJMU academic has also been awarded one of 54 National Teaching Fellowships (NTF).

Dr Philip Denton, Principal Lecturer at the School of Pharmacy and Biomolecular Sciences, is the recipient of the NTF and the paramedic team at LJMU's School of Nursing and Allied Health received the CATE.

Dr Denton was recognised for overseeing innovation, implementation and monitoring in respect of the University’s teaching and learning strategy in his role as Associate Dean (Education), and for his compelling classroom practice as a Principal Lecturer in Physical Chemistry.

The paramedic team gained the CATE for making a positive impact on students during their time at LJMU and beyond, in their future career. The team has an ethos of engaging students and has an approach to the degree programme which ensures that graduated paramedics offer excellent patient care in the communities they work in.

The National Teaching Fellowship Scheme (NTFS) and the Collaborative Award for Teaching Excellence (CATE) showcase the outstanding impact of individuals and teams who teach or support learning in UK higher education, recognising their success and providing a platform to share the learning from their practice.

Alison Johns, Advance HE's Chief Executive, said: "Congratulations to all our 2019 winners of these two prestigious, national awards. Becoming a National Teaching Fellow or winning CATE team is a huge achievement. It can be truly life-changing. Creating ambassadors for innovative and impactful teaching who are valued by institutions and colleagues, and who can set in motion change and enhancements to make a really positive impact on student experience and outcomes across their institution and beyond. Advance HE looks forward to working with the winners to help to disseminate their work for the benefit of all.

Dr Ben Calvert, Deputy Vice-Chancellor at the University of South Wales and Chair of the 2019 Teaching Excellence Awards Advisory Panel, said: "These awards really are the pinnacle of reward and recognition in teaching and learning. The 2019 winners are rightly proud of their achievements and I am sure they will continue to share their knowledge as individuals and teams so that their institutions, colleagues and the wider higher education sector can benefit from their expertise.

Winners will receive their awards at a special ceremony on 16 October in Manchester.


Work under way to transform Byrom Street


Student welfare tracked by health app


Contact Us

Get in touch with the Press Office on 0151 231 3369 or