Teaching and Learning Awards 2023 winners

Our Teaching and Learning Excellence Awards recognise and celebrate the achievements of LJMU staff who support teaching and learning, as well as the broader student experience.

Rising Star

The award recognises a particularly significant teaching contribution and leadership potential in Teaching and Learning.

Award winner: Susanne Zajitschek

Individual Teaching Excellence

These individual awards recognise an outstanding, transformative or inspirational impact on the student learning experience.

Award Winner: Áine Mac Dermott

Excellence in Digital Education

These individual or team awards celebrate the use of technology to enhance teaching and student learning.

Award Winner: Will Swaney

Commended: Mohamed Qabshoqa

Academic Leadership

These individual awards recognise an outstanding contribution to academic leadership.

Award Winner: Andrea Mallaburn

Commended: Ian Sadler

Equality, Diversity and Inclusion

These individual or team awards will recognise outstanding contributions to advancing opportunities for marginalised and underrepresented groups.

Award Winner: Journalism and Sports Journalism Team

Commended: The Schools’ Observatory Team